Ten Thought Leaders of India


Dr Bijoy Misra


India Discovery Center

Outreach Lecture I - Ten Thought Leaders of India

The lecture is a survey of the work of ten principal personalities who can be considered as a continuum of Indian thinking from 2000 BC to the modern times.  The personalities analyzed are: Yājñavalkya, S’rīkṛṣṇa, Mahāvīra,  Buddha,  Kauṭalya,  Pāṇini,  Vālmīki,  Vyāsa, S’aṅkara and Kabīra.  

Their original contributions are cited and connected to help observe the evolution of Indian ethics and social conduct over the last four thousand years. 

Download lecture slides and video